As an employer in Tennessee, it’s essential to understand the state’s workers’ compensation insurance requirements. Workers’ comp is a type of insurance that covers medical expenses and lost wages for employees who are injured on the job. In Tennessee, most employers must have workers’ comp insurance, and they must follow some specific rules and regulations. Here is a guide to help you understand Tennessee workman’s comp requirements.
Tennessee Workman’s Comp Requirements in Tennessee
1. Who is required to have workers’ comp insurance in Tennessee?
In Tennessee, most employers are required to have workers’ comp insurance if they have five or more employees. Owners of construction businesses with at least one employee (unless exempt) must have workers’ compensation coverage starting March 1, 2011. Employers in the coal mining industry must also have this coverage if they have one employee.
2. What is covered by Tennessee workman’s comp?
In Tennessee, workers’ comp insurance covers medical expenses, lost wages, and disability benefits for injured employees or suffering from a work-related illness. It also covers the cost of rehabilitation, retraining, and vocational services for employees who are unable to return to their previous job due to their injury or illness. Additionally, workers’ comp insurance may provide coverage for death benefits to the surviving family members of an employee who dies due to a work-related injury or illness.
3. How do I get workers’ comp insurance in Tennessee?
To get workers’ comp insurance in Tennessee, you will need to purchase a policy from a licensed insurance provider. There are several options for workers’ comp insurance in Tennessee, including private insurance companies and the NCCI’s Workers Compensation Insurance Plan. You can compare quotes and coverage options from different providers to find the best policy for your business.
4. What happens if I don’t have workers’ comp insurance?
If you are required to have workers’ comp insurance in Tennessee, and you do not have a policy, you may face significant fines and penalties. The Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development has the authority to issue fines and penalties for employers who do not carry workers’ comp insurance. In addition, if an employee is injured on the job and you do not have workers’ comp insurance, you may be responsible for paying all medical expenses and lost wages out of pocket.
5. How do I file a workers’ comp claim in Tennessee?
If an employee is injured on the job, they must report the injury to their supervisor as soon as possible. Tennessee law requires employees to report injuries to their employers within 15 days of first learning about the injury. The employer will then need to complete a workers’ comp claim form. The claim form must be completed and returned to the insurance provider within one business day.
6. What is the Workers’ Compensation Insurance Rates in Tennessee?
Several variables, including payroll and employee classification, determine workers’ compensation rates. Tennessee’s average workers’ compensation rates are 11 cents per $100 of payroll for low-risk employees and 21.47 cents per $100 for high risk.
Tennessee employers need to understand the state’s workers’ comp insurance requirements. By carrying a workers’ comp policy and following the proper procedures for filing claims, you can protect your employees and your business in case of a job-related injury.